Tuesday, June 5, 2012 was a rainy day in Idaho. Kamiah (cam-e-i) is 70 miles from Lewiston and this would be my first day wearing rain gear. Luckily it wasn’t pouring rain, mostly a drizzle and a shower now and then. But it was wet.

Update on my cycling companions, Ty, Drew, and Mac. They arrived in Clarkston (right across the river from me) on my first day off, Monday June 4. Mac’s Dad (Tom) road his bicycle from Missoula and met them there. Tom would be joining them for the next week or two.

I talked to them Tuesday morning and found out that they were taking the hillier but more bicycle friendly route south out of town. I did not feel like doing hills in my rain gear so I opted for the flat route, directly alongside the Clearwater River, which is not as bicycle friendly (busier and narrow or non-existant shoulders). I turned on my twin rear flashers, adjusted my mirror, and set out.

20120609-000828.jpg

I stopped for an hour at the Nez Perce National Historical Museum and the history buff ranger really knew and loved his subject. I also watched the informative half hour video.

My day off on Monday really refreshed me and despite the rain and a flat tire, I pulled into Kamiah shortly after 5:00. I suspected that I might find my friends at a local restaurant.

20120609-002413.jpg
I had two dining choices; one place had a sign that said “No Guns or Weapons Allowed”. I figured I would be safer at the other establishment. Kamiah is kind of an out-of-the-way place and I could not get a wi-fi signal anywhere and absolutely no cell service.

My stuff was hanging all round the motel room drying out. Little did I know that my friends were still out on the road, in the dark, in the rain, and did not make it to town until 10:00 at night! They all finally made it safely and I wouldn’t get the full story until our paths crossed again the next morning.

This is the cause of my rear tire getting a flat;

20120609-003729.jpg It spooked me pretty well. The staple went squarely into the tire and stood straight up. Every time it hit the ground my bike would bounce and as it went around the inside of the fender it made a hideous scraping noise. The slime stopped it from leaking until I removed it at which time a green stream of sealant shot out with the hissing air as my bicycled settled quickly onto the rim.