I left a little later than I should have this morning. I cycled up to Main Street in Waupaca and the road was closed for the Forth of July parade.

20120704-211023.jpg
I took a some video, listened to the band, and then that little devil that sits on my shoulder got the better of me. I excused my way through the on-lookers and joined the parade. I didn’t go too fast; they were throwing candy and I did not want to crush a young child rushing in to the street for a treat. I weaved in and out and around the participants, balloon sellers, and the Parade Marshals (who were on motorcycles but going the wrong way). I should have video’d my progress as I slowly passed everyone and made my way through, it was funny. I even got a few cheers!
My route today was a lot more enjoyable. My proximity to Monitowic allowed me to pick a slightly more circuitous route and the payoff was lightly travelled roads and peace and quiet. I was stumped trying to figure out what this farmer was doing;

20120704-211949.jpg
I was following my “stop and quench” method but it was still hot with a headwind. I passed through Freemont and eventually arrived at Menasha, at the north end of Lake Winnebago. I took a wrong turn and stumbled upon a brand new bike path across the lake. I watched the Menasha Lock capture a pleasure craft from the lake and lower it to the Fox River, which flows north to Green Bay. I rode along the north end of the famous lake through Jefferson Park where hundreds were gathered for a live band and water ski exhibition, and more were pouring in every minute for a fire works show. My days tally for mileage was a little low, so I continued on to Brillion, using my memory of the map and my compass. I found another fantastic road, Monitowoc Road, slicing through fertile farmland, no shoulder, but no traffic either. I’m pretty sure this is an “amber wave of grain”, although which grain, I have no idea;

20120704-213155.jpg
The wonderful road had a stop sign every couple of miles as it crossed a busier street. I waited for a farmer towing a load of hay and he turned onto the same road as myself, going the same direction. I can draft a load of hay as good as anybody, even Andy LeClair.

20120704-213526.jpg
But this time the farm machinery was going too slow. I took his photo as I cycled by.

20120704-213644.jpg