I watched out the window as the Delta flight paralleled the north shore of Lake Eire, which I will be cycling on soon. It looked flat from 20,000 feet. When we disembarked in Hartford, I asked the pilot how many miles the 1 1/2 hour trip was. We travelled 550 miles in 90 minutes. When I am bicycle touring I feel like a hero if I have 20 miles in an hour and a half!

Things I have noticed about being home; 1) there is no food in my refrigerator. 2) it is really nice to sleep in my bed. 3) I like having my friends nearby. 4) I have forgotten how to drive a car. In fact, I used to think I was a good driver. Now I am driving it as if it is a bicycle. And it goes really fast. 5) I can’t keep my sport bike in a straight line. I did an organized 42 mile pace-line ride on Monday night. When I stood to pedal, my unloaded carbon fiber Kestrel went sideways toward the woods like a chipmunk trying not to get run over.

Also, being at home, I can covert video and post it. Here is one from May 26, when I was still headed west, from Beaverton to Seaside, Oregon, so that I could dip my wheel in the Pacific Ocean.