My friend Ginny (Mac’s mom, who works at Adventure Cycling) commented on my tribulations in Detroit. She said that she could have told me how to avoid that entire mess. Even the Adventure Cycling Maps say they are designed by “cycling experts” and you should stay on the route. So why do I keep trying to take shortcuts?

Ginny is right (always). Adventure Cycling maps are right (99% of the time, which is way better than my average). But I am trying to meet my friend Brian Pawlow this Friday after he gets a ride to Lake George. I am still 210 miles from Lake George, and that is why I keep trying to take short cuts.

I had it all figured out today. Yes, my route is busier, not as scenic, perhaps a little bit more dangerous (this translates to “my route sucks”). As I was headed west on NY 104 into Rochester, all I had to do was find Stone Road, take a left up to Lake Ontario, and then enjoy a leisurely ride along the shore line until I could jump back on Route 104.

I got a little confused, but I did manage to find Lake Ontario eventually. After all, it is the smallest of the five lakes, being only 193 miles long, so I could have easily cycled right by the lake of shining waters without even noticing it, if it were not for my compass and my incredible sense of direction. And when I did find it, I think I also found the most beautiful cycling trail in the world. Smooth pavement, eight feet wide, curving along the shore line. It was stupendous.

20120725-220526.jpg

20120725-220617.jpg

In the small borough of Sea Breeze, in Rochester, the trail merged on to shaded, local roads. I stopped for some water and Gatorade and a local guy struck up a conversation. I asked him some directions and boy, was I surprised, when he told me that Route 509, that spans the mouth of Irondequoit Bay, closes every summer so that the boaters have unrestricted access to Lake Ontario. I kind of looked at him with a blank stare.

I was using my compass extensively the rest of the day.

However, it was not a total loss. He glanced across the street and told me that the world’s oldest miniature golf course was right there. Needless to say, I got really excited. I have found two references on-line for the world’s oldest mini-golf and one of them says that this is indeed the one.

20120725-222611.jpg

20120725-222655.jpg

I eventually cycled 98 miles today, and have a room here in Fulton, NY. Brian and I are tying to figure out where and how to meet. Several people have inquired what my ETA is. The perfect plan would be to arrive in Portland, Maine on Friday, August 3 or Saturday, August 4. The plan includes the requisite photo of me dipping my front wheel into the Atlantic Ocean, a hotel room, an expensive dinner at the Fore Street Restaurant, perhaps a pub or two before and or after, and then take a day off. Then I will swing my leg over my bike again and pedal home to CT.